I Love Drugstore / High Street Make Up

1. What is your favourite drugstore make-up brand?

It tends to change but probably Revlon. In my opinion Revlon is the closest to being high-end than any other high street brand and I feel you can rely on Relvon to bring professional formulas.  Also they are one of the  few high street brands to cater for pale skins. Some of my favorites are their powders, the primer, eyeshadows, nail polishes and treatments, the amazing lip butters and the fantastic new Nearly Naked foundation and powder (blog post to follow).

I also really like Bourjois too, they have some brilliant products across the board.

2. What is your favourite face, cheek and lip products?

Firstly I love Revlon base products (primer, foundation, concealer, powder, undereye concealer). I also really like the Bourjois Healthy Mix range, although shade 51 is slightly too yellow for me and I wish the powder would go lighter but aside from that the formulas and staying power is great. The Collection 2000 Lasting Perfection concealer is creamy and long-lasting. L’Oreal Lumi Maqique Pen Concealer is really good.

I’m not a big blush fan but I do like the NYX cream and powder blushes and the Bourjois blushes.

For lip products, there are tons to chose from – Relvon Lip Butters and Lip Stains and Lip Gloss, Rimmel Apocalips, Soap and Glory Lip Balms and L’Oreal Rouge Caresse Lip Sticks.

3. Least Favorite Product

L’Oreal Lumi Magique Foundation and Primer. Firstly, the primer didn’t do anything, it didn’t cause radiance or a highlightening effect and it didn’t prolong make-up wear.  The Foundation was nice but the it’s very tacky and sticky feeling on the skin and it transfers on to everything. Also, the 17 Flawless Primer is just terrible.

4. What is your best make-up bargain?

The Sleek eyeshadows palettes, great value for money and really good quality.

5. What is your favorite underdog product ?

Sleek BB Cream seems to be forgotton and their Pout Polishes.

6. A drugstore product which is over-priced

Boring but true, mascara. I don’t think mascara should be more expensive than foundation and it should not be priced more than £10. I think Max Factor make the best mascaras but they are just too expensive.

7. Best drugstore dupe?

L’Oreal Lumi Magique Foudation and Lancome Teint Idole Ultra, I honestly think these are identical in formula and they both transfer terribly.

8. Drugstore product which isn’t worth the hype?

Maybelline mascaras, everyone seems to love them and I’ve tried every mascara they’ve brought out and I always find them to clump and smudge and they usually end up in the bin but for as long as they bring out mascaras I will continue to try them with the hope I will love them too.

Leave a Reply

