I Love Budget Beauty

Premium make-up is fantastic, the packaging can elegant and decadent, like Clarins and Estee Lauder or quirky, like Benefit or sleek and no nonsense, like Bobbi Brown and the formulations within can be top notch and unbeatable but there is something addictive about make-up on the high street. I think it’s incredibly pleasing to go into Boots or Superdrug to discover 3 for 2 or buy one, get one half price, something that never happens in high-end make-up. I love premium make-up as much as the next person, department store counters are usually the only place I can find a truly fantastic foundation/concealer/powder match but its a great feeling to have several products to experiment with, for the price of one designer lipstick.

Boots and Superdrug are great places to explore, countless brands packed into one corner of a shop with hundreds of products, it’s a beauty addict’s dream. I admit there are some truly awful high street make-up which are just a waste of packaging but there are some gems. For my, Revlon owns lip products, the lip butters are unbeatable, the glosses are never gloopy, sticky and colourless and the lip stains, more than hold their weight against their high-end competitor. Bourjois’ eye pencils, eyeshadows and blushers could be mistaken for high end. Sleek, is annoying hard to find, but there products are brilliant, the eyebrow kit has everything you need for perfectly groomed brows, the eyeshadows palettes have every colour you will ever need (my favourite, Au Natural, is brilliant if you love nude/brown eyeshadow) and the blushes could be mistaken for costing four times the price. Max Factor owns high-street mascara and for nail polish, look no further than Barry M. The only downside to the high street, for me, is foundations, concealers and powders. I have never found the truly perfect match, I sometimes think I’ve found it but the cold, harsh light of day shows up the terrible shade. That’s not to say there aren’t good complexion products out there, Bourjois and Revlon make lovely foundations but the shades aren’t right for me.

If you avoid cheaper make-up, you don’t know what you’re missing, even if you aren’t looking for a bargain, some of the products are actually better than high-end.

