Skincare for Beginners

I am by no means a skincare expert, I’m not very adventurous when it comes to skincare, I don’t think skincare needs to cost the earth and I don’t think skincare needs to be too fussy. Once I find something that works for my skin, I tend to stick to it because my skin goes crazy if I switch products often. I read reviews and I read ingredients of products but I think skincare is really personal and what works for me might not work for you and vice versa. These are my favourite budget friendly skincare items, there is other products I like but they’re a bit more expensive but not crazy expensive (I’m not the kind of person to £20+ on a cleanser).

I think cleansing is the most important because if your skin isn’t clean you can get breakouts. I really like the Simple Moisturising Face Wash, generally I find face washes harsh and drying but I like this one for the morning and it’s never dried my skin out. I also really like Avene’s Extremely Gentle Cleanser is one of my all time favourite cleanser, it’s incredibly gentle and it’s never broke me out and it helps my skin to calm down when it’s a little crazy. For taking off my makeup I tend to use creamy cleansers, I don’t like oils or balm cleansers, I don’t like how they feel on my skin. My all time favourite cleanser is Liz Earle’s Cleanse and Polish but a fantastic cheaper option is the Simple Cleansing Lotion.

Moisturiser is a really important, I still haven’t found one I love but I do like a few. Everyone needs moisturiser, even oily skins because skin needs hydration.

I’m currently using the Balance Me Balancing Moisturiser and I really like it. It’s incredibly light but it’s enough moisture for my oily/combination skin but it doesn’t leave any shiny or tacky residue and it’s a great base for make-up. If your skin is more on the drier side, Balance Me Moisturise Rich face cream is a thicker formula for comforting dry skin. The best cheaper moisturisers I’ve found are the Garnier Moisture Match range, there are five different moisturisers aimed at different skin types and concerns, I have the one for oily skin and I really like it.

Eye creams aren’t an essential for a lot of people but I like eye creams, the skin under the eyes is much thinner than the rest of the face and eyes are always the first place to show aging. My favourites are the Origins Eye Doctor eye cream, it’s really hydrating Benefit It’s Potent, very hydrating and makes a good base for concealer.

For masks. I mostly use clay masks and occasionally I use a hydrating mask when I feel my skin needs it. My favourites clay masks are Origins Clear Improvements  and Liz Earle Deep Cleansing Mask. My favourite hydration mask is the Dr Jart+ Moist Water Max Sleeping Mask which is utterly amazing and it’s quite often on offer in Boots.

I hope some of these recommendations are helpful and there obviously other great, affordable products out there but these are my favourites and I’ve found them to be really effective.

What are your favourite affordable skincare products?

Leave a Reply

