Guide To MAC Lipsticks

MAC are renowned for there lipsticks but there are a lot of different formulas and finishes, so I thought I would do a post with a quick description of each range.

Cremesheen

My favourite finish, they are very moisturising and comfortable to wear and a bit like a Revlon Lip Butter. These don’t last very long on the lips because it’s a moisturising texture but they’re easy to reapply without a mirror. The finish is sheeny but they are prone to melting. Shy Girl is my favourite.

Amplified Crème

Good pigmentation and moisturising (bit like the Cremesheen with more pigmentation). These aren’t the most long-lasting lipsticks, around two hours before needing reapplied.

Frost

I think the best way to describe these is a glittery lipstick. There are some which are very glittery and there are others which are bit more muted but still glittery. I’m not of frost finishes because I find them a little drying.

Glaze

These are like a tinted lip balm, they have less pigment than a Cremesheen but they are very moisturising and comfortable. Like the Cremesheens, they don’t last long on the lips and they do have a tendency to melt. My favourite is Hue.

Lustre

Again, very moisturising and very similar to the Cremesheens and the Glazes. I would say they have pigmentation similar to the Cremesheens.

Matte

The name is quite self-explanatory, a matte finish and like all matte finishes, they aren’t the most comfortable lipsticks and can be quite drying. Really pigmented and last for hours, I think these are best applied with a lip brush. Russian Red, Lady Danger and Ruby Woo are the most famous.

Retro Matte

I don’t see any difference between these and the normal Mattes but I don’t wear matte lipsticks. I think the real difference is they are incredibly pigmented, like a lipstick Hollywood Greats wore.

Satin

If you want to wear a matte lipstick but not confident enough, try a Satin. It’s not sheeny in any way but it’s completely matte. Not as long lasting at the Matte and still a bit drying.

Leave a Reply

