My Favourite Christmas Reads #1

I’m a bit of bookworm, I’ve always got a book on the go but at Christmas I dig out my favourite Christmas books and curl up on the sofa with a cup of hot chocolate and engross myself in a Christmas story. I will read any book set at Christmas time so I apologise for the lengthy list!

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

An oldie but a goodie. I don’t anyone who doesn’t the film or the book. Everyone probably knows the story but I think its really Christmassy and the ending is heart warming.

The Gift by Cecelia Ahern

If you find A Christmas Carol too old fashioned or difficult to get through, try this book. It’s pretty much a modern day telling of a Christmas Carol. Its about a business executive at Christmas in Dublin who is shown the error of his ways. Like all of Ahern’s books, The Gift is beautifully written and perfect for reading during the festive period.

Winter Solstice by Rosamunde Pilcher

I like this book but I will admit it begins a bit depressing but then it gets better and becomes more festive. Its not my favourite of the bunch but every year I end reading it.

There’s Something About Christmas by Debbie Marcomber

A writer who hates fruit cake is sent by her editor to cover a fruit cake competition but finds love on the way. If you by  don’t like romantic, Christmas tales, you definitely won’t like this but I think Christmas is the best time of year to read books like this!

Christmas At The Cupcake Café and Christmas at Rosie Hopkins’ Sweet Shop by Jenny Colgan

Jenny Colgan has written a series of books but these two are set Christmas time. I’m big fan of Jenny Colgan, I like her writing style and she always writes charming stories and I find I can’t stop reading them once I start. Christmas At The Cupcake Café is the story of Issy Randall, she prepares herself for Christmas at her café but at the same time she has to deal with the possibility of her boyfriend moving to New York. Christmas At Rosie Hopkins Sweet Shop is a similar story, Rosie Hopkins owns a sweet shop but her Christmas is disrupted by a local disaster and the possibility of her boyfriend moving to Australia.

I have more favourite reads but I think I better leave it there for now but I will do a second post. In the comments, let me know what your favourite Christmas reads are or recommend me some new ones.

Leave a Reply

