L’Oreal Elvive Fibrology Shampoo and Conditioner

Fibrology with title
Recently L’Oreal launched a new range of products to their Elvive range. I have to say I’ve always been quite indifferent to the Elvive range but I am a huge fan of the Ever Pure range. I think L’Oreal used their expertise in hair care fantastically to create an amazing, sulphate-free range.
The Fibrology range is very scientific and I have to say, I don’t quite know (or understand) the ins and outs of how it works but basically the range is designed to swell each strand of hair to make it look and feel thicker long term using patented technology. I think this is part of the unique selling point for this range, most thickening products temporarily thicken the hair until the next wash but this claims to maintain thickness after each wash. For information on the science behind the products, this link http://www.loreal-paris.co.uk/fibrology/index.aspx, has more details.
I should point out two things when it comes to thickening products. Firstly, I would describe my hair has around average in thickness, I don’t have thin hair but I don’t have thick, coarse hair but I do use thickening products when I want “big” hair. Secondly, I’m quite sceptical of thickening products, they make my hair feel sticky and crispy and sometimes they make my hair a bit frizzy because it’s not thin enough to use such products.
I’ve used this twice now and I could see and feel a difference in my hair. It felt like I had thicker hair but not frizzy or coarse, each strand felt smooth. My hair tends to be quite flat, regardless how much I blow dry it but this made my hair feel bouncier than usual. I usually wear my hair straight because I’m a bit useless at doing anything else but I used this and then I curled my hair using a conical wand and I noticed my hair kept a curl longer. I also know people with finer hair than me and they absolutely love and can see a huge difference in their hair.
The shampoo and conditioner is great but I have one little problem these products. After used these products my hair was very tangled and quite difficult to brush, even with a Tangle Teezer. I had to use a leave in conditioner and my Tangle Teezer to tackle small sections of hair at a time because I could not get the knots of out hair. I think the reason behind the tangles was the fact the products are swelling each strand of hair and because my hair isn’t very fine, it caused tangles. Also I don’t think the conditioner was moisturising enough for my hair.
So taking into account, I do really recommend these products because they are good and I will use them but I won’t be using them regularly, only when I want big hair.
Have you tried the range? What do you think?

5 thoughts on “L’Oreal Elvive Fibrology Shampoo and Conditioner

  1. I was really impressed with the hair expertise range which was sulphate free so I’ll definitely be giving this a try next! Great post. I’ve just found your blog and had to give you a follow cos it’s great!

    Jenn

    x

Leave a Reply

