Illamasqua Skin Base Foundation

Illamasqua Skin Base with title

When it comes to foundation, I’m a fussy customer. There are lots of foundations I like and recommend to people but nothing has made “holy grail” status. I think part of my problem with foundations, is the shade range. I have super, super pale skin with a cool undertone and most foundations are too dark for me. Over the years I’ve surrendered myself to having a foundation that’s not perfect but it works until I discovered this foundation.

Illamasqua Swatch edited

Illamasqua is a fantastic brand, I already have a few products from them and I love them. The foundation has always been on my radar but I never got round to trying it but I took the plunge and ordered it a few weeks ago and I’m glad I did. I have the shade 02 which is a super pale shade with a slight pink undertone, 01 is a pure white base which can be mixed with other foundations to lighten a foundation that might be too dark for you. I think the coverage is dependent on the person who applies it. I use a tiny amount and get light coverage but you can build it up for full coverage. The finish on me is somewhere between satin and dewy but I’ve read other blogs describing it as really dewy but I think that depends on the skin type and the products your using underneath it. It doesn’t have SPF which is fantastic for flash photography because it won’t flashback. I also like the packaging because it’s plastic and lightweight so there is no chance of a glass bottle smashing in your makeup bag. Also the plastic means you can get every last bit of product because I intend to cut packaging when it’s nearly finish and scrap the rest into a plastic pot.

At £27, it is a high end foundation but me it’s worth every penny and I can’t see myself straying from this foundation for a long time because it’s perfect and it’s my “holy grail”.

Have you tried this foundation? What do you think?

http://www.illamasqua.com/shop/products/face-and-body/foundations/skin-base-foundation-in-6-5

3 thoughts on “Illamasqua Skin Base Foundation

Leave a Reply

